Wednesday November 02 2011
EAST KERRY MINOR ‘C’ FINAL Gneeveguilla 1-11 Listry 1-9 NO more than two points separated Gneeveguilla and Listry at any time in the Minor ‘C’ Final at Fossa on Saturday last. All through it was tit for tat scoring and end to end play of the highest standard. Early points from Listry’s Joseph Clifford and Gneeveguilla’s Donnacha Buckley established the pattern of end to end football and both teams played thus for the full hour in true championship style. A super Kieran Brosnan point put Listryback in the lead but points from Tommy Murphy and Buckley had Gneeveguilla ahead until Gary O’sullivan equalised with a 30metre free. By now Gneeveguilla were shading midfield and the supply from Tommy Murphy and Conor Herlihy gave their side the edge. Good defence by Daniel Murphy, Con Cronin and Chris Collins ensured that Listry failed to profit from some good attacks. Up front Shane Cronin, Daniel O’leary and Padraig Doyle were moving at high speed and making life difficult for the Listry defence. Forwards Daniel O’leary, Donnacha Buckley and Paud Cremin took advantage of good supply and landed four points for Gneeveguilla. Meantime, Listry replied with points from Gary O’sullivan, Seamus Kennedy and Gavin Nolan to bring the game to 0-7 to 0-6 in favour of Gneevguilla. Daniel O’leary and Gary O’sullivan swapped points and half time arrived with a score of Gneeveguilla 0-8 Listry 07. The opening minutes of the second half continued the see-saw nature of the The Gneeveguilla minor team celebrate their win over Listry in the East Kerry Minor ‘C’ football final at Fossa last Saturday play with Tommy Murphy and Kevin Courtney swapping points. The Listry defence of Paudie Lehane, Stephen Courtney, Conor O’sullivan, Sean Lehane, Barry Sheehan and John Brosnan made renewed efforts to curb the enthusiasm of the Gneeveguilla forwards. Listry were rewarded with what appeared a game winning goal when Gary O’sullivan’s free landed close to the edge of the Gneeveguilla square where Joseph Clifford rose highest to punch the ball to Kevin Dunlea’s net. It was advantage Listry – 1-8 to 09. The tempo increased and the advantage swung Gneeveguila’s way as Listry appeared to tire from earlier exertions. Within minutes Listry let their discipline slip and Paud Cremin was fouled, winning a penalty for Gneeveguilla, which wing back Con Cronin expertly placed to the corner of the net to restore Gneeveguilla’s one point advantage. Cronin added a point from play and Gneeveguilla consolidated their grip. As the game reached its conclusion, two of the stand out players, Gneeveguilla’s Donnacha Buckley and Listry’s Gary O’sullivan swapped points but the title belonged to Gneeveguilla. East Kerry vice-chairman Tim Ryan presented the cup to Gneeveguilla captain Donnacha Buckley. GNEEVEGUILLA: Kevin Dunlea, Padraig O’sullivan, Daniel Murphy, Eoin O’leary, Brian Fitzgerald, Chris Collins, Con Cronin (1-1, 1-0pen), Tommy Murphy (0-2), Conor Herlihy, Shane Cronin, Daniel O’leary (0-2), Mossy Donnelly, Padraig Doyle, Donnacha Buckley (0-5, 4f), Paud Cremin (0-1). Sub: Eamon Herlihy Michael Dillane. LISTRY: Chris O’sullivan, Conor O’sullivan, Paudie Lehane, Stephen Courtney, John Brosnan, Sean Lehane, Barry Sheehan, Samus Kennedy (0-1), Kevin Courtney (01), Michael Allman, Gavin Nolan (01), Aaron O’connor, Kieran Brosnan (0-1), Gary O’sullivan (0-4, 3f), Joseph Clifford (1-1).

Leave a Reply

Scroll to top