Fossa V Listry. This East Kerry League Div 2 final played in Listry on Sunday last was a keenly contested affair for three quarters of the game.  Listry who had home advantage due to a toss for venue started much the stronger and led 3 points to nil after 10 minutes, all scores coming from Sean Lehane and all from play.  Fossa fought ba…ck and drew level by the 18th minute with their scores coming from their corner forward Paudie Clifford with 3 points from frees. Two of these frees were retaken, to register scores, after indiscipline from Listry defenders. Danny Wrenn and Damien Clifford restored Listry’s lead to 2 points with one from play and one from a free. Listry had 4 wides during this period, as some players took the wrong options to shoot for scores when a colleague was better placed.  Fossa’s Dara Rice finished the scoring for this half with a well taken point to leave the half time score Listry 0-5 Fossa 0-4. Listry started the second half as they had done in the first and registered 2 points, from Sean Lehane and Gary O Sullivan, inside the first 3 minutes to extend their lead to 3 points. Listry were now dominating the game but had a few scoring chances trown away, particularly from frees. Mike O Neill reduced to lead with a point just after Listry’s Danny Wrenn had received a black card. As the game reached the three quarter stage 2 superb points from Garry O Sullivan stretched Listry’s lead. At this stage Paul O Donoghue was dismissed for a black card after having received a yellow card earlier. This led to some confusion as the ref did not show a red card. Listry seemed to gain from this, and though reduced to 14, they played much better over the last 15 minutes to register 2 more points from Derry Ahern (free) and Damien Clifford (free) to a single point for Fossa, from Paudie Cllfford. This was an entertaining game between local rivals and was a good outing before the county league. East Kerry board Chairman Tim Ryan presented the Frank Doran Safeguard Security sponsored trophy to Listry Captain Jimmy O Leary.

Captain Timmy O’Leary accepting the cup from Jim Ryan Chairman of the East Kerry Board

The Listry Winning Team

   Another proud day for Listry GAA


Leave a Reply

online casino ireland

Scroll to top